Microsoft Technology Associate training and certification

Microsoft Technology Associate (MTA) qualifications are technical qualifications offered by Microsoft that prove your digital skills in a range of topics, including programming (Javascript, Python and Java), software development, database theory and practice, security, networking and Windows infrastructure.

Microsoft Technology Associate digital badge


In conjunction with our partners, we are able to offer Cardiff Met students and staff comprehensive LearnKey e-lessons and exams for each of the eleven MTA qualifications, for free. The courses are a great opportunity to learn new skills, whilst the MTA certifications are an excellent way to prove to employers that you have strong technical skills.


Sign-up for an MTA induction session to find out more about the training and certification and to start your Microsoft Technology Associate journey.

There are no items to show in this view of the "IT Training Schedule" list.

The sessions will be held through a Microsoft Teams meeting. A link (URL) to the meeting and joining instructions will be sent after booking on a session.

Target Audience

​Cardiff Met students or staff.


A good level of general ICT proficiency is required, e.g. ability to manage files, use a web browser.


The course and exam are free to Cardiff Met students and staff, but places are limited.

Course Overviews

There are eleven Microsoft Technology Associate courses and qualifications available. Here is a brief overview of each.

Visit the Certiport website to download a complete list of objectives for each course and exam.

Looking for the MTA for Introduction to Programming Using HTML and CSS? You can gain that qualification by completing our MTA Web Design Fundamentals course.

Course Structure

To enrol on a course you need to attend an induction session and complete the induction form. The induction explains the nature and structure of the courses and the resources available.

The core of each course is comprehensive video-based LearnKey e-lessons. In addition, the courses include practice questions and exercises and GMetrix practice (mock) exams. The courses can be studied at your own pace.

Each course concludes with the Microsoft Technology Associate exam: a 40 to 50 minute, computer assessed multi-choice exam. The exams can be taken remotely, from your home.

Visit our Microsoft Technology Associate page to find out more about MTA and the benefits of a MTA qualification.


Candidates who successfully pass an exam will gain a Microsoft Technology Associate qualification. You will receive:

  • a physical and digital certificate
  • a digital badge that can be used to share (e.g. on LinkedIn) and verify your achievement


Got a question?

See whether the Certification FAQs page answers it, or find out more about MTA on our Microsoft Technology Associate page.  If you still have questions, get in touch with the IT Training team via email.